When does VAT apply?

Modified on Thu, 23 Sep, 2021 at 11:45 AM

If you are Dutch or an European individual, you will need to pay VAT (rates listed below). However, if you are non-European or an European (non-Dutch) company, you do not have to pay VAT.

VAT for non-Dutch European companies: VAT shifted

If you are an European company but not Dutch, we will set the VAT rate to 0% and shift the VAT. You will need to register the VAT in your own country. To shift the VAT we need a valid VAT number which can be validated using the European VIES service.

VAT percentage overview

Country codeCountryVAT percentage
20 %
BEBelgium21 %
20 %
25 %
CYCyprus19 %
CZCzech Republic
21 %
DKDenmark25 %
EEEstonia20 %
FIFinland24 %
FRFrance20 %
DEGermany19 %
ELGreece24 %
HUHungary27 %
IEIreland23 %
ITItaly22 %
LVLatvia21 %
LTLithuania21 %
LULuxembourg17 %
MTMalta18 %
NLNetherlands21 %
PLPoland23 %
PTPortugal23 %
RORomania19 %
SKSlovakia20 %
SISlovenia22 %
ESSpain21 %
SESweden25 %
UKUnited Kingdom20 %

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article